• Small Business Person of the Year Award

    2018 Small Business Person of the Year, Kym McCaughey

    Kym McCaughey, owner of The Main Look, is the 2018 Small Business Person of the Year. Kym and her husband, John, established their roots in Hamilton in 1981. Kym was working downtown Cincinnati at that time at Shillito’s Glemby Salon. This was a great foundation for her career. When Kym’s family started to grow with three children John, Christopher and Molly, Kym slowed her career down for her family and continued to work part time locally in Hamilton. Kym reflects that this was a great choice to be with her children when they were growing up. In 2006, the salon in Hamilton that Kym was working at abruptly announced they were closing. Faced with two kids in college and nowhere to work she knew she had to get moving.  She knew it was time to start her business. After being told there was nowhere in Hamilton to open a salon, Kym went searching on her own. Twelve hours later and with the help of loyal clients, Kym found 401 Main Street. She looked in the dusty windows of the barren building that day and saw a vision for a beautiful new salon. In less than 6 weeks and with the help of family and friends, Kym and her business partner, transformed the once empty building into a new cornerstone for Main Street.  Thirteen years later and Kym is still working long days at the salon. But, she wouldn’t have it any other way. She is passionate about mentoring her young stylists and showing them that with “hard work, you will be successful”. Many things have changed over the years in the salon business, but Kym believes in a team-based atmosphere. This builds a stronger salon family and has been one of her salon’s strongest attributes. Personal Development in her salon has also been a key to her success. Each new stylist completes a specified training program with Kym to ensure their successful transition. Since opening The Main Look, Kym has been even more active in the community. She is currently an adviser to the Hamilton High School cosmetology program and member of the Greater Hamilton Chamber of Commerce. She is a long-time member of the Main Street association where she has served the past 10 years as secretary. Kym also volunteers with fundraising for the YMCA. She has also recently been appointed to the City of Hamilton Nuisance Board. Kym is pleased to support several organizations in Hamilton including: Parachute, The Fitton Center, RiversEdge Concert Series, YMCA, YWCA, Caring Closet, Hamilton City Schools and Badin High School.  But one of Kym’s favorite things is her involvement with the Little Miss Pumpkin pageant during Operation Pumpkin.  She helped to start the pageant and is a sponsor and very involved.    

    Past Recipients:

    2017 - Sara Vallandingham
    2016 - Eric Pohlman
    2015 - Sherry Armstead
    2014 - Jane Johnson
    2013 - Mindy Mueller
    2012 - George F. Schmidt
    2011 – Dennis & Robin Kurlas
    2010 - Sanders Family
    2009 - Edward D. Larkin
    2008 - Jeff Pohlman
    2007 - Bob Robinson, Sr.
    2006 - Bill Boehm
    2005 - H. Wayne Ferguson
    2004 - Craig Wilks
    2003 - Dave Lippert
    2002 - Mel “Moody” Baker
    2001 - Paul & Joellyn Goos
    2000 - Karen Underwood Kramer & Gayl Underwood
    1999 - Peter A. Towne
    1998 - Frank Pfirman
    1997 - Neil Cohen, Henry Sester & Ron Smith
    1987 - Bob Lippert
    1986 - Harold McMullen
    1985 - Bill Wilks
    1984 - Jay & Carolyn Antenen
    1983 - Jack Horn
    1982 - Joe Williams

  • Mark Your Calendar

  • Sustaining Sponsors